Workaround the file size limit of Softr for Airtable

Hi everyone,

I’m new to everything here and really do not have that much experience in using scripts.

We’re looking for ways to as much as possible natively have users upload huge file attachments directly to airtable. A problem we’re facing is proper identification of who is uploading the data since its in an embedded form. We are trying to avoid having to ask users for their emails and/or other information again since they’ve already provided those when they were signing up.

Are there ways to automatically populate the fields in the airtable forms or limit what they can see? Or do you know of any other way we can work around the file size limit in softr attachments?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the community, @jackrojas !

Hmm, this is a tough one. Huge file attachments are a hard one to deal with, and really depends on how big the attachment really is. If the attachment is 500mb or less, than airtable is probably fine. But much bigger than that and I would look towards another solution to store that attachment, while saving the URL to that attachment in your airtable base, personally.

I’d also use a form in Softr to create this functionality, and use hidden fields to send the data from Softr to Airtable to ensure the data is stored correctly. I’d also advise to place this upload behind a “authentication flow” to ensure they are users of your platform. Simply put, huge attachments eat up storage volume and cost a lot, and you dont want random users uploading huge files because it will be costly!

Hope this is helpful!

1 Like

Hi,

This might help you: Guide: Create a file size and a file type limitation for file uploads

1 Like

Thanks for the welcome @Jjenglert !