Delay time between filling out form to create company and user being allocated to company

Hey guys,
Happy Monday! :rocket::rocket:

Quick question:
When employees sign up on my platform, they first create a company profile by filling out a form.
The form directly adds the user to the company profile via their email, and then the recordID of the company appears in the user profile via a lookup field.

However, if I direct the form to the user’s new company profile, the match has not been made yet. It takes a good 30 seconds of refreshing the page until the company profile will appear.

Does someone know why this happens? What am I overlooking?

Is there a time delay until a lookup field works?
Or is Airtable data only refreshed after a while?

I need to solve this to have a good user experience in the sign-up process, would really appreciate any help :slight_smile:

Have a great start to your week! :raised_hands:t3:

Hi Tim,

There is a caching system linked to user groups.
You cans ask the support to remove this caching system. Though there will be an option very soon to enable/disable the caching system.

1 Like

Awesome, thank you, Matthieu!!
Is there any downside to emptying it? Slower loading speeds?

Theorically, removing the caching system should slow down the loading speed of the app.
Needs for confirmation by @artur

Hi guys!

I have exactly the same issue, so I’ll contact support. Thanks a lot!

@matthieu_chateau as an alternative, is there a way to use some custom code to “force a sync”?

Nope, not such custom code. Even if I had this, I wouldn’t give it as it would mess with the existing cache system of Softr with unwanted consequences at all levels :sweat_smile:

Also you need to understand that this cache system is in place as it fits the majority of the use cases of Softr apps (if you are wondering).

2 Likes

@matthieu_chateau
I see an option already to do so, but I guess that disables it for the entire website and things will be substantially slower? Is there any way to just disable it for that one page? :slight_smile:

Great, I didn’t check it yet :sweat_smile:.
No option to do so.
But feel free to try the difference, it won’t be really that visible.

Hey folks,

By default, the current user’s data is cached in the backend systems for a short amount of time; this is a great boost for 98% of apps, and in some rare use cases, when user signup and onboarding flow modifies user’s state in the datasource you might want to disable the caching to always get fresh up to date data from the datasource.

I am happy to hear about your use cases; we might still learn and enforce the case for users who have been active in the system for some time

5 Likes

Hi @artur !

In my case it’s exactly what you said: I’m creating a marketplace for neighbors and contractors, and my signup flow has two “logics”: if people have complete profiles or not (this is mostly due to Google Login, because people need to complete their profiles after logging in with Google) and whether they are contractors or neighbors. This results in 4 possible combinations that see different things in the web (pages and block visibility settings). Until today, I managed to create unnecessary success pages to give it time for the user sync to run :sweat_smile:

Maybe in the future this could be a setting mapped to certain blocks, in order to keep fast loading times but without completely turning off the caching system. Like, a checkbox in some blocks that, upon form completion, a user sync is triggered.

I’ll definitely test turning it off to see what happens! I’m worried that my entire app gets much slower if I turn it off?

In my case, there are two essential times when I need changes to be implemented instantly:

  1. A user creates a company profile and then should directly see the profile they just created → Page loading after form filled out.

  2. My pricing is based on company size, so the user will only see the correct pricing once the user has the company size of their employer in their profile via a lookup field. So if it does not refresh quickly, the user will see a prompt to please set up the company size first again, even though they have already completed their profile.