Issues with sizing of embedded video on mobile (desktop is fine)

Hi Softr community!

It’s my first time posting something here, so hopefully I’m doing this right.

I have a video embedded on my site using the following format:

.<iframe src=“linktothevideo”;height=“300”;width=“513”;allowfullscreen>

This works perfectly fine when visiting the site on desktop, but on mobile it changes the dimensions of the video – essentially reducing the height of the embed. It doesn’t crop anything out; it just adds black space on the left and right of the video, which effectively makes the video smaller than it should be.

I am a Softr and coding noob, but I have been googling quite a bit, so I’ve tried changing the height & width to 100% instead of exact pixels, I’ve tried adding a “@media query” inside Style tags in the custom code header (although I admittedly might not have done this correctly), and I’ve also tried adding padding-top 56.25% per some Google results – but to no success.

Any thoughts on what I might be doing wrong?

Hi!
Can you try to replace 300 (or 100%) by “auto” within the height=

Otherwise, to be copy paste in a custom code block (and nothing more)

<div class="embed-responsive embed-responsive-16by9">
  <iframe class="embed-responsive-item" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/E3e7UTwnrr8" allowfullscreen></iframe>
</div>

Note that you can change the responsive ratio “16by9” by “21by9” or “4by3” or “1by1”

Thanks a ton for the help! I did not get “auto” to work, but I got the second solution to work on mobile and desktop – with one caveat:

I do get it to work when I enter it as a custom code block; however, my use case is slightly different, in which case I don’t get it to work. Essentially, I’m using the “upvote template” where each item in the list includes a video embed. I.e. I can upvote each video.