Adding Pool of Potential Users?

I’m new to softr and trying to build out a portal to do surveys on, and I’m trying to figure out if what I’m trying to do is possible.

I have about 15,000 people in a database that are essentially potential users. Only a fraction of those would, I imagine, sign up for a portal. But I don’t know which people would or wouldn’t.

Without knowing anything about the backend involved here, what I would like to do is have a simple system in which all the user info is loaded into Softr and then anyone who wants to actually sign up just has to “recover” their password to actively join. But my concern with that is that such an approach is that I’d have to upgrade to enterprise just to handle 15,000 users, a majority of whom wouldn’t log in. But maybe I’m wrong?

So…is my approach feasible? Is there a better approach in anyone’s mind? Could I just send out an email asking people to sign up instead and then link those usernames to the existing email addresses I have on file?

Any advice is appreciated!

Hi @Cantrall and welcome to the community!

I confess I’m a little unclear from your description exactly what benefit would be derived from pre-creating the users from your database. My best guess is that the only benefit is that, for whatever fields you want to gather from a user on sign-up, you will already have those values.

But it seems to me that since your database information can get stale, you’ll want users to reconfirm their values on signup – and the more info you have about a given user, the more important this reconfirmation process is going to be.

So now I think the benefit is further reduced to: you’d like to be able to pre-fill the signup form with the fields you have on file for the user, to make their life a little easier.

This has a couple of challenges to it.